The perfect dupe: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in “Lolita”

So I was at Walmart the other day picking up a few things I had read about online and wanted to try out; The Hard Candy Glamoflauge which I got in the colour ‘light’ (which is STILL too light for me. When did I get so tan?!?!) and the Wet n Wild Megalast lipstick in ‘Spiked With Rum’, which I had remembered reading online somewhere that it was a possible dupe for KVD Lolita bullet lipstick….

Just before I continue, I just want to say that I flipping LOVE the WNW Megalast lipsticks. They’re 2 bucks at walmart, and they last so long! Not like liquid lipstick long obviously, but I have a few shades already (mostly dupes of mac colours that I wanted to try but wasn’t sure about) and one of them I took to the Dominican with me when I went back in March. Let me tell you, I could sip piΓ±a coladas on the beach in my ‘Coraline’ WNW Megalast lipstick and my lips stayed a gorgeous shade of bright coral (perfect with my almost tan skin tone and my black and lime green bikinis).

So I went to Sephora, partly to finally get my VIB card (could of had it twice by now since july, but THAT is a different post….. *grumpy face*) and partly to see if they had gotten in the Origins rose clay face mask yet. They didn’t. We will probably never get it. Anyways, so I also wanted to look at the KVD lipsticks because a few of my friends were raving about the liquid lipsticks, and because I saw a shade of pinky coral that I’ve been coveting since my last trip in her Studded Kiss lipstick.

Our store never has any shades of KVD liquid lipsticks. I might pick up berlin next time I’m in but we’ll see. All the dark shades are there which is good for me because dark lip look killer on me, but also not great because I’ve been wanting to try the lighter colours. (Luckily I snatched up the “Give Me Some Lip” kid and got a little size of Lolita Liquid Lippy. Pumped!!!

So I grabbed La Femme after a colourist gave me a little bit on an applicator to try out, and I proceeded to swatch lolita to see if I still coveted it like I have since the first time I saw it in store. (Take this with a grain of salt, I don’t own anything brown. I have one brown eyeliner, no brown clothes, no brown shoes, eyeshadows do not count in this scenario.) So I was still a little iffy on whether or not I should purchase something I wasn’t sure would suit me, especially since it would put me back 25-30 bucks.

I had a swatch of the Spiked with Rum on my hand already, so out of curiosity I swatched lolita next to it and my head started singing for joy. Lolita maybe has a VERY small touch of red more than Spiked with Rum, but a lot of people probably wouldn’t notice it. (I’m very sensitive to colour differences)IMG_0113

The swatches I admit are a bit light. And the lighting in Sephora is TERRIBLE. It’s yellow, and dim, and ugh. Anyways, The three on the bottom left are the ones I’m talking about.

The bottom left colour is La Femme (which I picked up because it is like the perfect everyday lip for me, apart from it being slightly dry). The next up (2nd from the bottom on the left) is KVD Lolita bullet, and the 3rd from the bottom is WNW Spiked with Rum. Crazy right?

The top super light colour is Lovecraft, which in my opinion would be an awesome colour for someone wanting to give that brown spiced lip a go, but is a little afraid of the darkness. The more opaque colour perpendicular to SWR and Lolita is Double Dare Everlasting Liquid Lipstick. Surprisingly close in colour to the Lolita bullet….

The bright red next to that is the Berlin Everlasting Liquid Lipstick.

Oh, by the way, the Wet n Wild lipstick is in a bullet with a clear plastic top. If you google it with lolita you’ll see a bunch of swatches of the two next to each other and how similar they are!

One thought on “The perfect dupe: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick in “Lolita”

Leave a Reply

