Concealer

As a girl who’s covered in freckles, I don’t like to wear foundation. I am however, a huge advocate for concealer.

A little blemish or redness coverage never hurt anyone! Plus it lets my freckles shine through while still evening out my skin, and making me look more awake and less like a zombie.

Here are a few concealers I currently use, as well as a few not pictured.

IMG_1729

Side note: Concealer isn’t meant for your entire face, so don’t cover the entire thing with it! If you have some serious uneven skin tone, or you just love foundation then wear foundation! But please make sure it’s right for your skin! I cringe every time I see a girl wearing caked on foundation and powder. That I’ll be its own post someday.

My right-now everyday summer love-of-my-life concealer: Sephora Bright Future Gel serum concealer. ~$17 CAD (My shade is 09 Palmier, I’m a little yellow toned) This is very creamy, and blends wonderfully with a medium amount of coverage. It’s definitely build-able, and lasts throughout most of my days without a problem. If you have dry skin like I do, these kinds of liquid concealers are a total life saver as they don’t stick to dry patches much.

Hot day- sweating my face off- maybe we’re going swimming concealer: Urban Decay 24/7 Concealer Pencil ~$25 CAD (Summer shade DEA, winter shade CIA) This is definitely not for my everyday use. It lasts all day, and has great coverage, but for my dry skin I can really only use it on really hot days when I’m a little sweaty (can we say “dewy” instead??). If you have oily or normal skin this would probably work great. I used this when I went to the Dominican in March and it blended perfectly and was wonderful for the warm weather.

Drugstore Brand HG Concealer: Maybelline Fit Me concealer. ~$8 CAD (My shades are Fair 15, and Light 10) Amazing concealer especially for the 5-10$ price tag. I notice that I do require a touch-up by the time supper comes around or if I’m going out somewhere after work, but I have a tendency to touch my face a lot as well. This is a well-known dupe for the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer (~$30 I think?) so if you’re already a fan of that and you’re looking for a budget friendly option, you should definitely try this out. It does lean a little on the pink side, so if you’re yellower like I am it might not match perfectly. I’m on my 3rd of 4th tube of this.

The “Oh Sh!t I have a huge pimple/rash/red blotch/didn’t sleep/crazy hungover” concealer: Make Up For Ever 5 Camouflage Cream Palette. (~$45 CAD) I use the No.1 palette. This concealer palette comes with 5 different shades. A green colour, for those who don’t know that green neutralizes red (Basic colour theory people!) so tap a little green on any pimple or redness first to help it neutralize the colour and it’ll be much easier to conceal. It also includes a “salmon” or “peach” colour next to the green, which is supposed to help neutralize blue under eye circles (again, colour theory) but this doesn’t work for me as I have more red-purple under eyes than blue. The remaining 3 shades are to customize your perfect colour.  For me, it’s pretty easy since the middle shade matches my summer tanned skin almost perfectly. (Yes, that’s my tan colour..) Feel free to use the “peach” colour next to the green as a regular concealer if that floats your boat. I use it for blemishes around my hairline.

If you JUST want a green concealer, a cheapie and a goodie is Maybelline Cover Stick Corrector Concealer in the shade Green. It looks like a tube of green lipstick and it’ll run you around 5 bucks. I’m on my second tube of this before I bought the MUFE palette, and it’s still great and more pigmented and creamier than the MUFE one.

Honourable Mentions:
Benefit Erase Paste: (Shade 01) This was my Holy Grail for years. It’s full coverage, creamy, and works with a lot of skin types. I ran out and wanted to try some new things, but I still think about re-purchasing it constantly.

Benefit Boi-ing: (Shade 01) Great full coverage concealer, especially if you’re on the oilier side of things. I used this during summers mostly, it was too dry for my skin in the winter. Some of my friends who have less-dry skin rave about this.

No Dark Shadows Complexion Enhancer: (Shade wow) Too lazy to put on makeup but I look so dead that if I leave my house I might start a legit zombie scare while trying to find food. Makes you look more awake, without actually having to do much. It covers juuuust enough to make you look like you could have gotten more than 4 hours of sleep last night if you’re on the way to the gym or need to run to the store without scaring any small children. Not really a concealer, kind of like a concealer BB cream… if that was a thing…

2 thoughts on “Concealer

Leave a Reply

